Resource & Database Search

Searchable web resources and databases for patron use

Resources for Sharing and Lifelong Learning is our clearinghouse for statewide interlibrary loan. The RL&LL website is full of great resources. Visit their page! Also, take a look at these FREE Open Access Resources.

consumerreports.jpg
Consumer Reports is now available online through EBSCOhost. EBSCO Publishing/EBSCOhost is the registered trademark of EBSCO Publishing.
Are you a school and trying to use Consumer Reports? Use this link.

bl-logo-small.jpg
BadgerLink databases are available for your research use, including: Business, Health and Medical Databases, Kidsearch, Auto Repair Reference Center, Consumer Health Complete, NoveList, Science and History Reference Centers, and more!

mangolanguage.jpg
Mango is an online language-learning system that can help you learn languages like Spanish, French, Japanese, Brazilian Portuguese, German, Mandarin Chinese, Greek, Italian, Russian and more.


overdrive2.jpg

Introducing Overdrive, the Wisconsin Public Library Consortium's Digital Download Center for audio books, music and video! Now you can browse and search for hundreds of great titles and download them to your computer or transfer them to a portable device for your listening pleasure anywhere, anytime. Try it, it's easy! A total of 6 items may be checked out, any combination of audio books, videos, or music. Visit our information page for more details. (Available through home computers only.)

azworldtravel.jpgLearn about world cities or plan your next trip at AtoZ World Travel. World city travel guides and world travel resources provide travel essentials, city views, attractions, maps, culture, shopping and cuisine.

sanbornmaps.gif

Digital Sanborn ® Maps, 1867-1970 ™ provide access to more than 660,000 large-scale maps of over 12,000 American towns and cities. Founded in 1867 by D. A. Sanborn, the Sanborn Map Company was the primary American publisher of fire insurance maps for nearly 100 years. No maps are consulted more in academic and public libraries. Our edition covers Wisconsin maps. (Available on library computers only.)

ancestry.gif

Ancestry is now available FREE on computers in the Dodgeville Public Library. The Ancestry Library Edition collection has approximately 4,000 databases including key collections such as U.S. Federal Census images and indexes from 1790 to 1930; the Map Center containing more than 1,000 historical maps; American Genealogical Biographical Index (over 200 volumes); Daughters of the American Revolution Lineage (over 150 volumes); The Great Migration Begins: Immigrants to New England, 1620-1630; Social Security Death Index (updated monthly); WWI Draft Registration Cards; Federal Slave Narratives; and a strong Civil War collection. Ancestry Library Edition updates continually, with more indexes and original images added all the time. (Available on library computers only.)

litfinder.gif

LitFinder includes thousands of full-text poems, short stories, essays, speeches and plays. Also includes biographies, work summaries, photos, and a glossary. Access to LitFinder is provided as part of the BadgerLink project. Anyone with a Dodgeville (SWLS) library card and access to the internet can use LitFinder.

Top of Page

teachingbooks.gif

TeachingBooks is a diverse and constantly growing online collection of author programs and K-12 book-related materials. Includes original movies revealing book creation processes (filmed in the studios of award-winning authors and illustrators!), audio excerpts of professional book readings and book guides which span thousands of children's, young adult and non-fiction titles. Available online, anytime, from school, home or your library.

recollectionWI.png

Recollection Wisconsin is an expanding digital collection featuring thousands of historic photos, postcards, maps, letters, diaries, books, artifacts, oral histories and other digital collections from dozens of Wisconsin libraries, archives, museums and historical societies. Users can search across all content, browse sub-collections based on subject categories and types of material, or explore a map of content contributors.

fantasticfiction.gif

Fantastic Fiction is a great source for locating the next title in a series, your favorite author's newest book or more information on an author. This easy to use online database contains bibliographies for over 10,000 authors and information on over 200,000 books. Fantastic Fiction is available free via the internet.

literaturemap.gif

Literature-Map is a unique way to locate a new author. Enter the name of a favorite author and a map of new author names appears. The closer two writers are on the map, the more likely someone will like both of them.

iplliterary.gif

IPL Literary Criticism Collection contains critical and biographical web sites about authors and their works that can be browsed by author, by title, or by nationality and literary period. The collection is not inclusive of all the work on the web, nor does it plan to be. The sites are selected with some thought to their overall usefulness.

Updated 26 August 2014

Top of Page